You are here:  home / Dr Seuss books / list of Dr Seuss books

List of Dr Seuss Books

On this page you'll find a complete list of Dr Seuss books listed in the order in which they were originally published. These are the 45 books which were both written and illustrated by Dr Seuss himself.

dr seuss books,The lady at our local pharmacy gave these books to my twin sons when they were about 10 months old. They're cute little mini versions of the books and, as you can see, they've been well-loved (and well-chewed!)

You might read elsewhere that Dr Seuss wrote more books than the ones on this list. That's true but the other books he wrote were illustrated by other people so I haven't included those on this list.

Dr Seuss books are great fun to share with your child and, as a bonus, they'll also help him develop something called phonological awareness, a critical skill for learning to read later on. This is because the rhythm and the rhyme build connections in children's brains in a way that other types of language don't.

Book shops and libraries will have at least a few of the books on this list but if you'd like to buy one, my favourite place to buy books these days is the Book Depository. Great prices and postage is free!

The Complete List of Dr Seuss Books

1. And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street (1937) 

2. The 500 Hats Of Bartholomew Cubbins (1938) 

3. The King's Stilts (1939) 

4. Horton Hatches the Egg (1940) 

5. McElligot's Pool (1947) 

6. Thidwick The Big-Hearted Moose (1948) 

7. Bartholomew And The Oobleck (1949) 

8. If I Ran the Zoo (1950) 

9. Scrambled Eggs Super! (1953) 

10. Horton Hears A Who! (1954) 

11. On Beyond Zebra (1955) 

12. If I Ran The Circus (1956) 

13. The Cat in the Hat (1957) 

14. How The Grinch Stole Christmas (1957) 

15. Yertle The Turtle And Other Stories (1958) 

16. The Cat In The Hat Comes Back! (1958) 

17. Happy Birthday To You! (1959) 

18. Green Eggs And Ham (1960) 

19. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish (1960) 

20. The Sneetches And Other Stories (1961) 

21. Dr Seuss's Sleep Book (1962) 

22. Dr Seuss's ABC (1963) 

23. Hop on Pop (1963) 

24. Fox In Socks (1965) 

25. I Had Trouble In Getting To Solla Sollew (1965) 

26. The Cat in the Hat Song Book (1967) 

27. The Foot Book (1968) 

28. I Can Lick 30 Tigers Today! And Other Stories (1969) 

29. My Book About Me (1969) 

30. I Can Draw It Myself (1970) 

31. Mr Brown Can Moo! Can You? (1970) 

32. The Lorax (1971)

33. Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now! (1972) 

34. Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? (1973) 

35. The Shape Of Me And Other Stuff (1973) 

36. Great Day For Up (1974) 

37. There's a Wocket in my Pocket! (1974) 

38. Oh, The Thinks You Can Think! (1975) 

39. I Can Read With My Eyes Shut! (1978) 

40. Oh Say Can You Say? (1979) 

41. Hunches In Bunches (1982) 

42. The Butter Battle Book (1984) 

43. You're Only Old Once! (1986) 

44. I am Not Going to Get Up Today (1987) 

45. Oh, The Places You'll Go! (1990) 

Dr Seuss, whose real name was Ted Geisel, died in 1991. The following books were published after his death: 

Daisy-Head Mayzie (1994) and Hooray For Diffendoofer Day! (1998) were written after Ted's death, based on his sketches and notes. 

My Many Colored Days (1996) was written by Dr Seuss in 1973, well before he died, but was published for the first time after his death. Ted had cancer and knew he was dying. According to his biography, he intended this book to be his farewell offering.

You might also like: