You are here:  home / The Magic Tree House series

The Magic Tree House

The Magic Tree House books are a series of brilliant books written by US author Mary Pope Osborne.

magic tree houseThe Magic Tree House

The books are aimed at kids who are able to read independently and who are ready to move on from the books like the Dr Seuss books that they enjoyed when they were younger. Most children reach this stage at the age of about seven and feel very grown up when they can graduate to reading their first 'chapter books'.

My Year 2 students love them and there's honestly one to appeal to every child. Even my reluctant readers have been reading them!

The Magic Tree House books make wonderful first chapter books and are also brilliant gifts for readers aged between 6 and 9, depending on their reading age.

About the Magic Tree House Series

The Magic Tree House series is about the adventures of Jack and Annie, a brother and sister who discover a magical tree house filled with books.

As they explore each book, Jack and Annie are whisked back to different times and places in history so that they become part of the story themselves.

They make friends with a variety of people, some of whom are real historical figures. They then have to use their wits and courage to solve problems, complete missions and help the people they meet.

The Magic Tree House books are often used in schools because they're fun and engaging while also being quite educational. For reluctant readers, they offer a familiar framework, structure and cast of characters which helps children experience success when reading.

About The Magic Tree House Books

The first Magic Tree House book was published in 1992 and there are now 28 books in the original series. 

valley of the dinosaurs, magic tree house

The stories combine elements of history and science with a bit of mystery thrown in which makes them winners with both boys and girls in the 7-9 age group. Having said that, remember that this is a guide only. All children are different and if your five- or six-year-old is already a capable reader, it's worth giving The Magic Tree House books a try.

As well as the original series of 28 Magic Tree House books, there's also a second series called the Magic Tree House: Merlin Missions. These books are longer than the original 28 and involve Jack and Annie in a series of quests to help Merlin the Magician.

So there are now a total of 48 Magic Tree House books. There's also a companion series called Magic Tree House Fact Trackers. These non-fiction books are written by Mary Pope Osborne, together with her husband Will and her sister, Natalie Pope Boyce.

The Fact Trackers contain more information about the historical places and events Jack and Annie visit in the Magic Tree House books. At the moment there are 22 Magic Tree House Fact Trackers. 

Where Would You Like To Go Next?

You might also like: